High School Cross Country Zone Update


Congratulations to the 2017 Raiders XC Running team who loaded up two busses, with 57 determined runners, to win the team title at the CASAA Cross-Country Championships on Wednesday, at Peace Hills Park, in Wetaskiwin. Every single runner gave their best effort to help our team come home with the Championship!

It was the Thurber girls' teams that lead the way for the Raiders. The junior, intermediate and senior girls' titles were all won by our Lindsay Thurber runners. Way to go girls!!

Junior Girls                   Intermediate Girls            Senior Girls

Hannah Wirtanen            Hannah Jackson             Journey Flewell

Elyssa Leedahl                  Edyn Aasman                Emma Holmes

Stephanie Keeper              Jamie Lalor                    Hayley Lalor

Rebecca Kenworthy            Dawsin McDonald          Emma Thomas                

Individually, we also had 6 medal winners from the Thurber team: Hannah Wirtanen took gold in the junior girls category, Josh Campbell ran to a gold medal finish in intermediate boys. Hannah Jackson won silver and Edyn Aasman took bronze in intermediate girls. Journey Flewell and Emma Holmes won silver and bronze, respectively, in senior girls.

Most exciting of all, the Lindsay Thurber Raiders lead all schools in the zone with 31 runners qualifying for the ASSA Provincial Championships in Edmonton on October 21st. This is more than twice the number we had last year!! Way to go Raiders.